top of page
Lifesaving Society Bronze Star

Bronze Star

The Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Star program develops swimming proficiency, lifesaving skill and personal fitness. Candidates refine their stroke mechanics, acquire self-rescue skills, and apply fitness principles in training workouts. Bronze Star is excellent preparation for success in Bronze Medallion and provides a fun introduction to lifesaving sport. This is also a certification course and requires a certain amount of hours and 100% attendance.
Lifesaving Society Bronze Medallion

Bronze Medallion

The Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Medallion program is for those that are 13 years old or that have previously completed the Bronze Star and challenges the candidate both mentally and physically. Judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness – the four components of water rescue – form the basis of Bronze Medallion training. Candidates acquire the assessment and problem-solving skills needed to make good decisions in, on, and around the water. Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite for assistant lifeguard training in Bronze Cross.
Lifesaving Society Bronze Cross

Bronze Cross

The Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Cross program is for those that have completed their Bronze Medallion and are looking to begin the transition from lifesaving to lifeguarding and prepares candidates for responsibilities as assistant lifeguards. Candidates strengthen and expand their lifesaving skills and begin to apply the principles and techniques of active surveillance in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross emphasises the importance of teamwork and communication in preventing and responding to aquatic emergencies. Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for advanced training in the Society’s National Lifeguard and leadership certification programs.

National Lifeguard

The Lifesaving Society’s National Lifeguard is a legal certificate for lifeguarding throughout the country and is recognized by the province of Ontario for lifeguarding public swimming pools.

National Lifeguard is recognized as the waterfront supervisory certification for Ontario Recreational Camp Regulation 503/17.

National Lifeguard certification is available in four options: Pool, Waterpark, Waterfront, and Surf. The National Lifeguard Award Guide details the curriculum requirements and performance standards for National Lifeguard Instructors and candidates.

Prerequisites: Minimum 15 years of age, Bronze Cross, and Lifesaving Society Standard First Aid (need not be current) or Standard First Aid from one of these approved agencies.

National Lifeguard Lifesaving Society

Russell Swim Instructor Certification

Russell Aquatics’ Swim Instructor Certification is a free course offered by Russell Aquatics to those that are looking to teach and work at our facilities. This course is for those that have completed their Bronze Cross and Standard First Aid certifications. Those that are interested in taking this course must submit a resume to our team and complete the interview process prior to registering in this course. Upon successful completion of their interview, candidates will be hired and enrolled in the course. The training and instructor course components will be 45 hours, with 25 hours being in class theory and 20 hours being paid in water training working with our classes and experienced team members!

In this course, candidates will learn about childhood development, proper holds when teaching, safety in classes, the different levels within the Russell Aquatics swim program, working with children of different abilities and learning styles, and many other important and valuable instructional skills.

Russell Aquatics
bottom of page